To maintain the integrity of the MLS® System, CREB® has decided to align community names, boundaries and districts with that of the City of Calgary. These community changes will come into effect January 5, 2016, and will turn the current 4 quadrants into 8 districts. 

This change is happening because many community names no longer exist or aren't even officially recognized by the City of Calgary, causing a lot of confusion. This will make the data and resources more reliable for everyone who uses them. 

The MLS® System is a powerful tool, but only if we maintain its integrity. Aligning with the City of Calgary community names and districts will clean up our data and create a more reliable tool for all. Alignment will also provide clarity and consistency for all existing communities, and allow the MLS® System to stay current as new communities are officially added by the City. The alignment will also help CREB® provide more meaningful data to members, with the opportunity to access powerful demographic information, expanded trend data and comparisons across districts for key areas of the city.

Some of the key changes:

  • “Estate” areas will be removed as they are not recognized by the City of Calgary
  • New community names will be added (e.g. Royal Vista)
  • Some communities are split or merged with others
  • Existing names will be changed to match City naming (e.g. Saddleridge becomes Saddle Ridge);
  • Commercial area names will be expanded to match City naming (e.g. Highfield becomes Highfield, Manchester Industrial, Alyth /Bonnybrook and Burns Industrial)
  • Zones A, B, C and D will become eight districts: North, Northeast, East, Southeast, South, West, Northwest and City Centre

If you have any questions about these changes at all, please feel free to contact us. 

Posted by Kirby Cox on
Email Send a link to post via Email

Leave A Comment

Please note that your email address is kept private upon posting.